10th Annual Computing Department PhD Conference


Following the success of the ’10th Annual Computing Department PhD Conference’, we would like to thank all the paper and poster presenters for sharing their research work on the day. It was an excellent platform for PG researchers within the Computing Department to present their work for constructive feedback in a friendly yet critical environment.


The event was opened by the Dean of FEPS, Professor Jonathan Seville followed by a motivational talk by Sir Alan Rudge, President of ERA Foundation who emphasised on the importance of researchers ‘actively selling’ their work. His take home message ‘harder we  work, luckier we get!’ will motivate many young researchers like us. In the second motivational talk, Professor Robert Kowalski from Imperial College London, spoke about computational logic and how it can be used to improve human intelligence.


The event showcased some interesting and promising work that is being carried out by PhD researchers in the Computing Department. Mr Spencer Thomas was awarded the Best Paper Award for his paper ‘Reconstructing Biological Networks with Evolutionary Algorithms’. Ms Areej Alfraih was awarded for her presentation of the paper ‘Evaluation of Passive Digital Image Tamper Detection Techniques’.  Mr Chris Smith was awarded the Best Reviewer for his thorough and constructive review. Mr Ahmad Natour was awarded for his poster entitled ‘User Privacy Management’. Mr Hanif Yusoff was awarded the Best Research Potential for his poster on ‘Development of Novel Learning Algorithms for Echo State Network (ESN)’.


A big thank you to Mr Nick Ryman-Tubb for chairing the yet another year. We would like to thank Intellas UK, BCS, IBM, Memset, Thoughtified, Thales, Bae Systems Detica and The AI Corporation for sponsoring this event and for their continuing interest in the work done in the department. Last but not least, we would like to thank all the paper and poster reviewers, judges, the conference organising committee and the Head of Computing Department, Professor Tony Ho, whose efforts and help were key to the success of the conference and all those who attended for their role in creating an inspirational and thought provoking day.

Tameera Rahman and Konstantinos Eftaxias

For the 10th Annual Computing Department PhD Conference Organising Committee