Surrey Reproducibility Society Recognition Award

Are you a researcher who makes their code or analysis pipelines publicly available? Would you rather conduct a systematic review than a targeted literature search? Do you publish your null and negative results? Do you, in any capacity, attempt to practice open and reproducible science? If you answered “yes” to any of these questions, the Surrey Reproducibility Society (SRS) wants to hear all about it!

The SRS is dedicated to championing open and reproducible science, and has done so by organizing workshops, talks, seminars, and recently, an international conference. ​You can take a look at a range of resources that have been collected from our session by looking at our project page and a resources repository called Mini Hacks. Now, the SRS has taken another step in their mission to support early career researchers by founding the Surrey Reproducibility Society Recognition Award for students at all levels and early career researchers (up to 8 years after receiving their PhD). The first call for applications is open! The application consists of writing a short article answering the question “How do you champion open and reproducible research?” ​We expect that the articles will provide practical guidance for other researchers wishing to implement open and reproducible research solutions in their work. The top two applications will be submitted for peer reviewed publication our F1000 repository (Mini Hacks Collection). All article processing charges will be covered by the award, and the first place application receives a £500 cash prize! The applications will be judged by the SRS President, Marta Topor, the Mini Hacks Collection Adviser, Danielle Kurtin, and the Open Research Working Group.

The SRS recognizes that open science is not always the easiest research, and they want to reward your efforts. If you have any questions about the award, please reach out to

Please note: a related competition, open to all post-graduate students, research staff and teams is being run by the Surrey Open Research Working Group. For more information on both awards see