Three Minute Thesis Finalists Announced!

Well done to all 14 PGRs from across FASS, FHMS and FEPs who entered this year’s Surrey 3MT Competition.

The first round judging panel met on Friday to review all 14 submissions and had the hard job of selecting just 6 Surrey finalists.

The judging panel assessed the submissions against the 3MT competition criteria, across Comprehension and Content  and Engagement and communication.

The 6 finalists now have the opportunity to work with Professional Performance Coaches from GSA (thank you to Gemma Connell and Claire Sellers) to prepare their final submission.

You will have the chance to watch the six finalists and vote for your People’s Choice Winner as part of this year’s Doctoral College Conference – Shaping Futures. Remember to register for the conference here

Thank you to our first round judges, Associate Deans (DC) FASS  – Dr Allan Kilner-Johnson, FEPS – Prof Jeremy Allam and FHMS PGRD- Prof Jane Ogden, and Ross Kelway Public Engagement Manager and good luck to all 6 finalists:

  Postgraduate Researcher: Title of 3MT Entry Faculty
1 Clayton Bevas Between a Steel and a Hard Place FEPS
2 Giuseppe Di Donato Britain’s Legionary Settlements as a Legal Model of Integration: The Case of Vindolanda FASS
3 Urangua Jargalsaikhan New generation, cost-effective, bioinspired,  dental crown materials FEPS
4 Sian Lant Fluorescent detection of poxviruses FHMS
6 Daisy Shearer Spintronics: a new age of electronics? FEPS
6 Lauren Taylor Using the Digital Twin to Manage Weight Loss FHMS